Philosophia Perennis, Series 2

Philosophia Perennis, Series 2
Views: 5997 Brand: Osho Media International
Product Code: Hardbound: 320 pages
Availability: In Stock
2 Product(s) Sold
Qty: Add to Cart


About Philosophia Perennis, Series 2 

Talks on Pythagoras, the Philosopher and Mystic 


In this book Osho sheds light on the ancient and little-known teachings of Pythagoras, the Greek mathematician and mystic. . This is the second collection of talks in the series that Osho titled Philosophia Perennis, meaning the perennial philosophy, the timeless laws of existence.


Far from being a dry, academic center of learning, the “mystery school” of Pythagoras was alive with music, dance, celebration and meditation. Osho clarifies how the combination of these seemingly polar opposites creates a unique meeting of religion and science. While introducing the reader to the wisdom of Pythagoras, Osho also brings his insight to topics including psychoanalysis, education, politics, revolutions, sex, and religion.

 Be prepared for a mind-blowing read.

Chapter Titles



Chapter 1: The Golden Mean

Chapter 2: Zorba the Buddha

Chapter 3: More and More Mystery

Chapter 4: The Inner and the Outer

Chapter 5: A Totally New Dimension

Chapter 6: Enlightenment Is Your Birthright

Chapter 7: Live Moment to Moment

Chapter 8: All Revolutions Have Failed

Chapter 9: Dependence Is Not One-Way Traffic

Chapter 10: Aesthetics: The Real Morality

Chapter 11: You Are Perfect

An Extract from Chapter 11.

Chapter 11  

 The poor person suffers because he is hungry. The rich person suffers, not because he is hungry, but because now he knows that you may have a good house, good food, a good wife, a cozy family, a warm atmosphere, and still inside you are hungry – a spiritual hunger. Life is meaningless, pointless, accidental, empty. A great suffering arises. The poor suffers physiologically; the rich suffers psychologically.

 Why are the rich suffering? If it is only a question of richness, then the rich should not suffer. But it is again an alibi, a rationalization, so that you can continue in your old ways and your old patterns. That too proved to be another fallacy; now it too has become a cliché.

 Then Sigmund Freud invented something else. He said, “It is because of your unconscious instincts, passions that you have carried from your animal nature. It is because of those wounds in the unconscious that man is suffering.” Now what can you do about the unconscious?

These are just different names for the same trick, the same strategy, “I am not responsible.” Something else… The unconscious, history, economics, God, fate, karma, anything will do – xyz – anything will do. But one thing is certain: “I am not the cause of my suffering.” And that is where your whole misery lies, in that trick.

Understand well, you are the cause of your suffering, nobody else. To recognize this is the first step in being a religious person. You don’t throw your responsibility onto others, you simply recognize the fact: “I am the cause of my suffering.” And with that, of course, you will feel a little sad, you will look a little stupid. If you are the cause, then why do you go on creating suffering for yourself? You don’t like to suffer…

In the beginning you will feel a little sad, stupid, puzzled, confused. But soon you will feel a great freedom. If you are the cause of your misery, then you can be the cause of your blessing, of your bliss; then great freedom is attained. When one takes responsibility for oneself, one becomes free. You become free from past karma, you become free from fate, kismet, you become free from history, you become free from psychology. You become free from all excuses. And once you have pinpointed the real cause, things start changing.





4 ( 4 / 5 )
In this book Osho brings insight into the ancient and little known teachings of Pythagoras by giving commentaries on the remaining part of' The Golden Verses Of Pythagoras.' The Verses called as Sutras by osho are divided into three parts, they are known as the three Ps of Pythagoras: Preparation, Purification and Perfection. Preparation is the introductory part, to create a great thirst in you. The second part is purification, which means to drop all conditioning and all ideologies.Perfection is the third part which starts happening of its own accord when the first two parts are over. The purification and perfection parts are dealt with in this volume. Osho also responds to a number of questions on various subjects including religion , education , awareness , greed, psychoanalysis and politics.     The ideas presented in this book can influence the very thought process of the reader.

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below:

About Notes of a Madman Osho creates a loosely woven tapestry of vivid, humorous and touching..
Zen: Zest, Zip, Zap & Zing In Stock
About Zen: Zest, Zip, Zap and Zing Living the Fire of Life Osho responds to questions o..
About The New Alchemy: To Turn You On Innermost Secrets of Consciousness The New Alchem..